Credit Suisse

Fossil Bank

factual and sourced information

Press release January 24th 2020

Already days, hours and minutes without response.

A few numbers

In order to meet the objectives formulated by the IPCC and enshrined in the Paris agreement, the Executive Director of the International Energy Agency has acknowledged that we can no longer build new infrastructure that emits CO2 (The Guardian, 13 nov. 2018).

Moreover, the reserves already in operation contain more carbon than we can burn to limit warming to a maximum of 1.5°C. No new fossil fuel exploration and production projects should be opened. These data are known by the Bank and by all major economic and political players.

The claims made by Credit Suisse in their press release of January 13th, 2019, aren’t new. For experts of this field, the bank’s role in fueling the climate crisis isn’t either.

Between 2016 and 2018 Credit Suisse invested a total of $57,4 billion in fossil fuels (BankTrack, Banking on Climate Change 2019). At the same time, the bank provided $14,9 billion in financial support for global firms actively expanding their fossil fuels businesses (BankTrack & al., Banking on Climate Change, 2019).

Between 2015 and 2017 Credit Suisse granted $7,8 billion to 47 companies exploiting ‘extreme’ fossil fuels (Greenpeace Suisse, Swiss banks and their financed emissions, January 2019) and financed their exploration with $1,466 billion (Right, Based on Science, Eine Analyse der von CS und UBS finanzierten Emissionen aus fossilen Brennstoffen, 2018).

Fossil fuels at the extremes are coal, oil sands, Arctic and deep-sea oil, and liquefied natural gas.

Between 2015 and 2017 Credit Suisse financed 120 million tons of greenhouse gas emissions. This amount doubled all of Switzerland’s emissions (Greenpeace Switzerland, Credit Suisse and UBS financing massive greenhouse gas emissions, 2019).
 
82.6 million in 2017 alone. The amount for 2015 to 2017 almost doubles Switzerland’s national emissions by 143 million tons of CO2 equivalent over the same period (OFEV, Évolution des émissions de gaz à effet de serre de la Suisse depuis 1990, avril 2019).

Between 2016 and 2018 Credit Suisse provided $2 billion in support to some of the biggest coal mining companies in the world (BankTrack, Banking on Climate Change, 2019). Between 2015 and 2017 the bank tripled its emissions of financed carbon, especially due to its support of the coal industry (Bank Track, Credit Suisse and UBS financing massive greenhouse gas emissions, 2019).

Since 2014 Credit Suisse has issued financing of several billion USD to some of the main companies involved both in Alberta tar sands extraction and in carrying tar sands oil via pipeline out of Alberta (Ran, Funding Tar Sands ; Bank Track, Banking on climate change, 2019).

Please note : the extraction of this ‘extreme’ energy implies:

  • the pollution of huge amounts of water (up to 5 barrels of water are needed for each barrel of crude)
  • huge amounts of energy (190kg of greenhouse gases are produced to extract the equivalent of one barrel, three times what is needed for conventional oil)
  • the irreversible destruction of parts of the boreal forest (which will amount in the end to around 5000 square kilometers).
 

People are already dying because of the pollution of the Athabasca, the region’s main river (Stephane M. McLachlan, Environmental and Human Health Implications of the Athabasca Oil, 2014). A recent study shows that CO2 equivalent emissions are 30% higher than those announced by the companies that operate them (John Liggio & al., Nature Communications, april 2019). Some scientists consider that the development of the tar sands does not allow to stay below the 2°C threshold of climate change, the upper limit set by the Paris agreement (Christophe MacGlade & Paul Enkins, Nature, 7 juin 2015).

Between 2016 and 2018 Credit Suisse invested $147 million in companies drilling in the Arctic (Bank Track, 2019).

16,04% in Buy position, registered share 5,07% (Allnews.ch, Credit Suisse le Qatar augmente sa participation, August 13th 2018).

Qatar is the world’s biggest exporter of Liquefied Natural Gas.

4
billion USD IN FOSSIL FUELS
BETWEEN 2016 AND 2018
1
MILLION TONNES OF GREENHOUSE GASES
BETWEEN 2015 AND 2017
1
MILLION USD IN ARCTIC DRILLING
BETWEEN 2016 and 2018

Their words - Our facts

Response to Credit Suisse's press release from January 13th 2020
Credit Suisse is seeking to align its financing on the Paris Agreement objectives

Credit Suisse is one of 33 banks globally most involved in supporting and financing fossil fuels in the world (BankTrack, Banking on Climate Change 2019). The Paris Agreement was signed in 2015. Five years on, Credit Suisse is ‘still far from breaking ties with the fossil fuel industry’ (Johan Frijns & al., Letter to Credit Suisse’s CEO, december 2019).

Examples and figures demonstrating the bank’s very strong involvement in the financing of fossil fuels abound. One of the latest is the role it played most recently in the IPO of Saudi Aramco, the biggest oil producing company in the world.

After trying everything to become one of its global coordinator, the bank was one of 9 financial advisors for the initial public offering of Saudi Aramco in December 2019, via Credit Suisse Saudi Arabia. Credit Suisse Europe was one of its Joint Bookrunners (Globallegalchronicle.com, Saudi Aramco’s $25.6 Billion Initial Public Offering, december 2019).

According to Richard Heede of the Climate Accountability Institute, Saudi Aramco is linked to 4,38% of all carbon dioxyde and methane produced by human activity since 1965. It’s at the top of the ranking of the ’20 firms behind a third of all carbon emissions’  (The Guardian, Revealed: the 20 firms behind a third of all carbon emissions, october 9th 2019).

Its internal guidelines are permanently monitored and are constantly enforced

From a climate perspective, solutions based on bank volunteerism have proven to be uneffective for greenhouse gas emissions these last few years on a global scale. ‘Internal guidelines’ mentioned by the bank might have an impact, on the condition they be controlled by a competent authority whose independance is guaranteed. This is unfortunately not the case.

In practice, these internal guidelines have not prevented Credit Suisse from contributing to the financing of a number of projects and/or companies with catastrophic climate impacts: including direct financing for the first shale gas export terminal from the US Sabine Pass (famous in particular for having been temporarily closed after 10 years of chronically underestimated leakage : Justin Mikulka, Desmog, feb. 18 2018) but also the financing of more than USD 1 billion in 2018 of the Texas-based shale gas company Apache (Daniel Stern, Der wilde Ritt der Credit Suisse, WOZ, april 4 2019).

Credit Suisse’s guidelines also did not prevent it in 2017 from contributing with other 21 banks to finance TransCanada (Alison Kirsh, Who’s bankrolling TransCanada, march 2017 / RAN, Funding Tar Sands, november 2017), a company leading several emblematic projects dangerous for the climate, including the infamous Keystone XL pipeline.

Finally, its guidelines have left it free to be the second largest funder of the German company RWE, which mines lignite, the most polluting coal in North Westphalia, between 2016 and 2019. The area is one of the most CO2-intensive in Europe (BankTrack, Banking on Climate Change 2019 / Gerard Wynn, RWE’s lignite, Energypost.eu, october 2018).

Credit Suisse declared it wouldn't finance coal power plants anymore

In December 2019, Credit Suisse committed itself to no longer directly financing  ‘new power plant projects‘. This announcement is far from being a heavy sacrifice for Credit Suisse. Over the past 20 years, the bank has only granted two direct loans for new coal-fired power plant projects, one in 2006 and another in 2007. In other words, Credit Suisse is trying to present an image of a responsible bank at low cost by committing itself to no longer doing what it already did not or no longer does.

One commitment that could have made a real difference in the fight against climate change would have been to give up its massive financing of coal companies. For all banks, “corporate” finance accounts for the bulk of their coal financing; project finance is still only a small part, less than 10%. For Credit Suisse, almost all of its support for coal is therefore provided in the form of credits or aid for the issue of shares and bonds by companies.

Unlike many other European banks, Credit Suisse has not made any commitments in respect of such financing. On the contrary, between 2016 and 2018 Credit Suisse has allocated more than USD 1.9 billion to the top 30 coal power companies by installed plus planned coal power capacity. It is thus contributing to the expansion of one of the most CO2-efficient energy sources (BankTrack, Banking on Climate Change 2019).

Credit Suisse's part in credits to fossil fuels is in the lower range

It’s great news this is now the official stance of Credit Suisse management ! For a good reason too, since this confirms the idea according to which disinvestment of the sums granted to the global fossil fuel industry is really possible for the bank, in addition to being highly advisable for the conservation of life on Earth.

However, in order to appreciate the scale of the announced amount, we should have access to the equivalent in USD, as well as to the profile of the amounts of ‘fossil fuel credits’ expected for the next 30 years.

This profile should decrease drastically starting this year, in order to reach 0 in 2050 at the latest, i.e. “7.6% emission reductions per year between 2020 and 2030 in order to hope to limit warming as close to 1.5°C as possible” ( UNEP, Emissions gap report, 2019). Disclosure of the profile of volumes of “fossil fuel credits” is essential, as already recommended by the NGFS (Network for Greening the Financial System, A Call for Action, april 2019) and the TCFD (Recommendations of the Task Force on Climate-related Financial Disclosures, june 2017).

Credit Suisse is a driver of sustainable financial investments

Supporting the development of renewable energies is important. It’s one of the pillars of an energetic and ecologic transition, which is absolutely essential.

To be believable, the mentioned amounts first need to be clarified. Several coal and oil TNCs intervene massively in these sectors, as well as for a smaller share in renewable energies. What’s more, renewable energies also have negative climate externalities that should also be discussed. Let’s hope Credit Suisse does everything it can to uncover their exact impact. This data is relevant when compared to the efficiency of support to other mitigation strategies. 

Moreover, financing renewable energies while simultaneously continuing to finance fossil fuels on a large scale like Credit Suisse is doing is highly problematic. Global destruction of climate doesn’t get ‘fixed’ just because you organise a few fundraisers and/or lend billions to the main drivers of climate chaos, while also lending billions to others with less destructive activities.

The most credible energetic transition scenarions (like the Scenario Negawatt in France) insist on the fact that the most important transitions show that energy efficiency and conservation are essential. The transition to highly technical solutions (including so-called renewable’ energy) and has proven its inefficiency in decreasing massively the amounts of CO2 accountable for the global ecologic crisis : they didn’t replace fossil fuels, but were added onto an ever-growing pile of coal, oil and gas production (Richard York, Nature Climate Change, june 2012 ; Yuanan Hu & Hefa Cheng, Nature Communications, feb. 2017).

Credit Suisse supported the emission of 28 billion USD green bonds

As underlined by the Center for International Climate and Environmental Research (CICERO) about HSBC’s green obligations in 2015 : “there exists no guarantee, nor any ‘methodology’ to assure that the net impact of [green obligations] is significantly positive.” (“Second Opinion” on HSBC’s green obligation framework , Cicero 2015). It was recently proven that “[green obligations and standard obligations] are in fact the same product, despite a political and media discourse that tries to sell the existence of a difference between the two”. The authors of the research also underlined that “the ‘green’ promise linked to such an obligation carries no legal weight” and concluded that : “It is at the least questionable that ‘green’ obligation contributes to fight global warming (as opposed to financing directly green projects), and the issue of greenwashing could be raised.” (Ekeland et Lefournier, L’obligation verte : homéopathie ou incantation ?, june 3 2019).

An article from The Guardian in February 2019 indicated that “Australia [uses] climate change funding to upgrade coal-fired power plants”  (Adam Morton, Out on its own, The Guardian, feb. 28 2019). In China, “only 10% of green bonds sold last year [2016] had independent verification on the use of proceeds” (Claire Milhench, Emerging climate bonds boom, but are they really green?, Reuters, august 18 août 2017). According to Les Amis de la Terre France, the 2,5 billion euro fundraiser organised by GDF Suez in 2014 for private investors in order to finance “so-called clean energy projects” went into “green projects” without “any clear social or environmental criteria” being guaranteed, while the company keeps “investing heavily in fossil fuels” (Amis de la Terre France, Shell, GDF Suez et Samsung remportent les Prix Pinocchio 2014, november 18th 2014).

Finally, supposing these ‘green bonds’ are really green, the announced sum of “28 billion dollars in green obligations for [its] clients” over 6 years is ridiculously low and barely represents half of what Credit Suisse lent in “fossil fuel related transactions” over a period half that time (between 2016 and 2018).

It is now 2020. The risks and threats brought on by climate change have been verified since they were first formulated 50 years ago. Despite the international commitments pledged 5 years ago in Paris at COP21, Credit Suisse keeps massively financing the development of fossil fuels.

Contrary to other majors European financial actors, Credit Suisse has so far failed to question its actions in order to stop contributing to the worsening of the climate crisis. This failure is endangering our future and puts millions of people at risk. Wildfires in Siberia (2019) and Australia (2019-2020), the drought in India (2019), flooding in Indonesia (2019-2020) are but a few examples of dangers the IPCC warned against in their report on the consequences of a warming scenario exceeding 1,5°C (IPCC, Special Report, Global Warming of 1.5°C, 2018).

Credit Suisse response to this situation and to the current mass mobilisations, including various lawsuits filed by the bank, is outrageous. It only makes us more determined to obtain rapid disinvestment from all funds granted to the major players of climate chaos.

Dessin de presse Vincent Lepee
"Will the Australian Open be held?"
"The air is unbreathable here... let's go finish the game at a Credit Suisse branch instead."
Vincent di Silvestro - Le Courrier 15.01.2020

Only the original text in French is legally binding

Credit Suisse

Eine fossile Bank

SACHLICHE UND BELEGTE INFORMATIONEN

Pressemitteilung vom 24. Januar 2020

Bereits Tage, Stunden und Minuten ohne Antwort.

Einige Zahlen

Um die vom IPCC formulierten und im Pariser Abkommen verankerten Ziele zu erreichen, hat der Direktor der Internationalen Energieagentur anerkannt, dass wir keine neue CO2-emittierende Infrastruktur mehr bauen können (The Guardian, nov. 2018).

Ausserdem enthalten die bereits in Betrieb befindlichen Reserven mehr Kohlenstoff, als wir verbrennen können, um die Erwärmung auf maximal 1,5°C zu begrenzen. Es sollten keine neuen Projekte zur Förderung und Produktion fossiler Brennstoffe eröffnet werden. Diese Fakten sind der Bank und allen wichtigen wirtschaftlichen und politischen Akteuren bekannt.

Generell sind die von der Credit Suisse in ihrer Pressemitteilung vom 13. Januar 2019 vorgebrachten Argumente nicht oder nur wenig neu. Auch die Beteiligung von Credit Suisse an der Verschärfung der Klimakatastrophe ist für Experten keine Neuigkeit.

Insgesamt hat CS zwischen 2016 und 2018 57,4 Mrd. USD in fossile Brennstoffe investiert (BankTrack, Banking on Climate Change 2019). Gleichzeitig unterstützte die Bank globale Unternehmen, die ihr Geschäft mit fossilen Brennstoffen aktiv ausbauen, mit 14,9 Milliarden Dollar (BankTrack, Banking on Climate Change 2019).

Zwischen 2015 und 2017 gewährte sie 47 Unternehmen, die „extreme“ fossile Brennstoffe ausbeuten (Greenpeace Schweiz,  Swiss Banks and their financed emissions, January 2019) und finanzierte deren Förderung mit 1,466 Milliarden USD (Right, Based on Science, Eine Analyse der von CS und UBS finanzierten Emissionen aus fossilen Brennstoffen, 2018).

Fossile Brennstoffe, die als extrem gelten, sind Kohle, Ölsand, arktisches und Tiefseeöl sowie verflüssigtes Erdgas.

Zwischen 2015 und 2017 hat die Credit Suisse 120 Millionen Tonnen Treibhausgasemissionen finanziert (Greenpeace Schweiz, Credit Suisse and UBS financing massive greenhouse gas emissions, 2019) Credit Suisse und UBS finanzieren massive Treibhausgasemissionen, 2019).

82,6 Millionen allein im Jahr 2017. Die Investitionen für 2015-2017 verdoppelt die Emissionen der Schweiz im gleichen Zeitraum um 143 Mio. Tonnen Treibhausgasen nahezu (BAFU, Entwicklung der Treibhausgasemissionen der Schweiz seit 1990, April 2019).

Zwischen 2016 und 2018 unterstützte die Credit Suisse einige der grössten Kohlebergbauunternehmen der Welt mit 2 Milliarden Dollar, während sie gleichzeitig einige der grössten Kohlekraftwerke der Welt mit 1,9 Milliarden Dollar unterstützte (BankTrack, Banking on Climate Change, 2019). Zwischen 2015 und 2017 verdreifachte die Bank ihre finanzierten Kohlenstoffemissionen, insbesondere durch ihre Unterstützung der Kohleindustrie (BankTrack, Credit Suisse und UBS, die massive Treibhausgasemissionen finanzieren, 2019).

Seit 2014 hat die Credit Suisse Multimilliarden-Dollar-Finanzierungen an einige der wichtigsten Unternehmen vergeben, die sowohl an der Gewinnung von Teersand aus Alberta als auch am Transport von Öl durch Pipelines aus Alberta beteiligt sind (Ran, Funding Tar Sands ; Bank Track, Banking on climate change, 2019).

Nota bene: Die Gewinnung dieser „extremen“ Energie erfordert

    • die Verschmutzung großer Wassermengen (bis zu 5 Barrel Wasser pro Barrel Rohöl)
    • an Energie (190 kg Treibhausgase für die Gewinnung eines Barrels , dreimal mehr als bei konventionellem Öl)

    • die unumkehrbare Zerstörung eines Teils des borealen Waldes (insgesamt etwa 5.000 Quadratkilometer).

 

Menschen sterben bereits wegen der Verschmutzung des Athabasca River, der Hauptflusses der Region (Stephane M. McLachlan, Environmental and Human Health Implications of the Athabasca Oil, 2014). Eine kürzlich durchgeführte Studie zeigt, dass die Treibhausgas-Emissionen um 30% höher sind als von den Unternehmen, die sie verursachen, im Voraus angekündigt wurde (John Liggio & al., Nature Communications, april 2019). Einige Wissenschaftler sind der Meinung, dass die Entwicklung der Teersandes es nicht erlaubt, unter der 2°C-Grenze der Erderhitzung zu bleiben, der Obergrenze, die durch das Pariser Abkommen festgelegt wurde (Christophe MacGlade & Paul Enkins, Nature, 7 juin 2015).

Die Credit Suisse hat von 2016 bis 2018 USD 147 Mio. in Unternehmen investiert, die in der Arktis Bohrungen vornehmen (Bank Track,  2019).

16.04% in Kaufpositionen, 5.07% in Namensaktien (Allnews.ch, Credit Suisse le Qatar augmente sa participation, 13 aout 2018).

Katar ist der weltgrößte Exporteur von verflüssigtem Erdgas.

4
Milliarden USD an fossilen Brennstoffen
Zwischen 2016 und 2018
1
Millionen Tonnen Treibhausgase
Zwischen 2015 und 2017
1
Millionen USD zur Finanzierung von Arktisbohrungen
Zwischen 2016 und 2018

Ihre Worte - Unsere Zahlen

Antwort auf die Pressemitteilung der Credit Suisse vom 13. Januar 2020
Credit Suisse versucht, ihre Finanzierung an den Zielen des Pariser Abkommens auszurichten.

Die Credit Suisse gehört zu den 33 Banken, die sich weltweit am stärksten für die Unterstützung und Finanzierung fossiler Brennstoffe engagieren (BankTrack, Banking on Climate Change 2019). Die Pariser Vereinbarung wurde 2015 unterzeichnet. Fünf Jahre später ist Credit Suisse „iimmer noch weit davon entfernt, sich von der fossilen Brennstoffindustrie zu trennen“ (Johan Frijns et al., Brief an den CEO von Credit Suisse, Dezember 2019).

Das Pariser Abkommen wurde 2015 unterzeichnet. Fünf Jahre später ist die Credit Suisse „noch weit davon entfernt, sich von der fossilen Brennstoffindustrie zu trennen“ (Johan Frijns et al., Brief an den CEO der Credit Suisse, Dezember 2019).

Beispiele und Zahlen, die das sehr starke Engagement der Bank bei der Finanzierung fossiler Brennstoffe belegen, gibt es in Hülle und Fülle. Eine der jüngsten ist die Rolle, die sie zuletzt beim IPO von Saudi Aramco gespielt hat.

Nachdem die Bank alles getan hatte, um die globale Koordination zu übernehmen, war sie über die Credit Suisse Saudi Arabia einer von neun Finanzberatern beim Börsengang des weltgrössten Ölproduzenten Saudi Aramco im Dezember 2019. Die Credit Suisse Europe war einer ihrer Joint Bookrunner (Globallegalchronicle.com, Saudi Aramco’s $25.6 Billion Initial Public Offering, Dezember 2019).

Laut Richard Heede vom Climate Accountability Institute ist Saudi Aramco seit 1965 mit 4,38 % des durch menschliche Aktivitäten erzeugten Kohlendioxids und Methans in Verbindung gebracht worden. Sie führt die Liste der „20 größten Unternehmen der Welt, die für mehr als ein Drittel aller modernen Treibhausgasemissionen verantwortlich sind“ an (The Guardian, Revealed: the 20 firms behind a third of all carbon emissions, 9 Oktober 2019).

Credit Suisse’s "interne Richtlinien werden laufend überprüft und kontinuierlich gestärkt"

Im Bereich des Klimawandels haben sich freiwillige Lösungen der Banken in den letzten Jahren im Allgemeinen als unbedeutend für die Treibhausgasemissionen erwiesen. Die von der Bank genannten „internen Leitlinien“ könnten eine Auswirkung haben, wenn sie von einer externen Organisation (deren Unabhängigkeit gewährleistet ist) überwacht würden, was aber leider nicht der Fall ist.
 

In der Praxis haben ihre internen Richtlinien die Credit Suisse nicht daran gehindert, sich an der Finanzierung einer Reihe von Projekten und Unternehmen mit katastrophalen Auswirkungen auf das Klima zu beteiligen, wie z.B. die direkte Finanzierung des ersten Schiefergasexportterminals aus den USA, Sabine Pass (bekannt dafür, dass er nach 10 Jahren chronisch unterschätzter Leckagen vorübergehend stillgelegt wurde: Justin Mikulka, Desmog, 18 feb. 2018), sondern auch die Finanzierung von mehr als 1 Mrd. USD im Jahr 2018 des texanischen Schiefergasunternehmens Apache (Daniel Stern, Der wilde Ritt der Credit Suisse, WOZ, 4 april 2019).

Die Richtlinien der Bank hinderten sie auch nicht daran, im Jahr 2017 zusammen mit anderen 21 Banken zur Finanzierung von TransCanada beizutragen (Alison Kirsh, Who’s bankrolling TransCanada, march 2017 / RAN, Funding Tar Sands, nov. 2017), einem Unternehmen, das mehrere symbolträchtige Klimaprojekte leitet, darunter die berüchtigte Keystone XL-Pipeline.

Schließlich steht es ihr nach den Richtlinien frei, zwischen 2016 und 2019 der zweitgrößte Geldgeber des deutschen Unternehmens RWE zu sein, das die Braunkohle, die umweltschädlichste Kohle in Nordwestfalen, fördert. Das Gebiet ist eines der CO2-intensivsten in Europa (BankTrack, Banking on Climate Change 2019 / Gerard Wynn, RWE’s lignite, Energypost.eu, oct. 2018).

Credit Suisse hat angekündigt, keine neuen Kohlekraftwerke mehr zu finanzieren

Im Dezember 2019 hat sich die Credit Suisse verpflichtet, „neue Kohlekraftwerksprojekte“ nicht mehr direkt zu finanzieren. Diese Ankündigung ist für die Credit Suisse alles andere als ein schweres Opfer. In den letzten 20 Jahren hat die Bank nur zwei direkte Kredite für neue Kohlekraftwerksprojekte vergeben, einen 2006 und einen 2007. Mit anderen Worten: Die Credit Suisse versucht, mit geringen Kosten das Bild einer verantwortungsbewussten Bank zu vermitteln, indem sie sich verpflichtet, nicht mehr das zu tun, was sie bereits nicht oder nicht mehr tut.

Eine Verpflichtung, die wirklich etwas Positives im Kampf gegen den Klimawandel hätte bewirken können, wäre die Aufgabe der massiven Finanzierung für Unternehmen, die im Kohlesektor tätig sind. Bei allen Banken machen die „Corporate“-Finanzierungen den größten Teil ihrer Kohlefinanzierungen aus; Projektfinanzierungen machen mit weniger als 10 % noch immer nur einen kleinen Teil aus. Für die Credit Suisse hingegen erfolgt die Unterstützung der Kohle fast ausschliesslich in Form von Krediten oder Beihilfen für die Ausgabe von Aktien und Anleihen durch Unternehmen.

Im Gegensatz zu vielen anderen europäischen Banken hat die Credit Suisse keine Zusagen für solche Unternehmensfinanzierungen gemacht. Im Gegenteil: Zwischen 2016 und 2018 hat die Credit Suisse den 30 größten Kohlekraftwerksbetreibern mehr als 1,9 Milliarden USD
nach installierter und geplanter Kohlekraftwerkskapazität zugewiesen. Damit trägt sie zum Ausbau einer der CO2-effizientesten Energiequellen bei (BankTrack, Banking on Climate Change, 2019).

Der Anteil von Krediten für fossile Energien von Credit Suisse befindet sich am unteren Ende der Bandbreite

Dass das Management der Zürcher Bank nun in dieser Position ist, ist eine gute Nachricht! Und aus gutem Grund gibt sie der Idee Glaubwürdigkeit, dass die Desinvestition der der globalen Industrie für fossile Brennstoffe gewährten Summen für die Bank voll und ganz möglich ist und darüber hinaus für alles Leben auf der Erde höchst wünschenswert ist.

Um jedoch gleichzeitig die Realität der angekündigten Größenordnung beurteilen zu können, wäre es notwendig, den richtigen Betrag in USD sowie das Profil der in den nächsten 30 Jahren zu erwartenden Volumina der „Fossilen Energie Kredite“ zu haben.

Dieses Profil sollte ab diesem Jahr drastisch abnehmen und spätestens 2050 den Wert 0 erreichen, d.h. „7,6 % Emissionsminderung pro Jahr zwischen 2020 und 2030, um die Erwärmung möglichst nahe an 1,5°C zu begrenzen“ (UNEP, Emissions gap report, 2019). Transparenz über die Anteile an fossilen Brennstoffen in den Portfolios ist unerlässlich, wie bereits vom NGFS (Network for Greening the Financial System, A Call for Action, april 2019) und der TCFD ((Recommendations of the Task Force on Climate-related Financial Disclosures, june 2017) empfohlen wurde.

Credit Suisse ist ein Motor für nachhaltige Geldanlagen

Die Unterstützung der Entwicklung erneuerbarer Energien ist wichtig. Sie ist eine der Achsen eines energetischen und ökologischen Wandels, der absolut notwendig ist. Sie wirft aber auch einige wesentliche Fragen auf.

Um glaubwürdig zu sein, müssen die genannten Investitionsvolumina zunächst geklärt werden. Viele multinationale Kohle- oder Ölkonzerne investieren primär in die fossilen Energien und haben ein kleines Nebenportfolio an erneuerbaren Energien. Darüber hinaus haben die erneuerbaren Energien auch schädliche Klimaexternalitäten, deren Realität schwer zu verbergen ist. Hoffen wir, dass die Credit Suisse ihr Möglichstes tut, um die genauen Auswirkungen dieser Externalitäten herauszufinden. Diese Daten sind wichtig, wenn man sie mit der Wirksamkeit der Unterstützung anderer Emissionsreduktionsstrategien vergleicht.

Zweitens ist die Finanzierung erneuerbarer Energien bei gleichzeitiger massiver Förderung fossiler Brennstoffe – mit dem Eifer, den die Credit Suisse gezeigt hat – höchst problematisch. Die Klimazerstörung wird nicht aufgehalten, indem man parallel zur Förderung fossiler Brennstoffe auch noch erneuerbare Energien fördert, da erneuerbare Energiequellen zwar emissionsarme Energie zur Verfügung stellen, nicht aber Klimagase resorbieren, und damit auch nicht die Emissionen fossiler Brennstoffe ausgleichen können!

Die glaubwürdigsten Reformszenarien für den Energiesektor (einschließlich des Negawatt-Szenarios in Frankreich) beruhen vor allem auf Energieeffizienz und Konsumreduktion. Der Übergang zu High-Tech-Lösungen (einschließlich der so genannten „erneuerbaren“ Energien) wird seit 40 Jahren versucht und hat sich als unwirksam erwiesen, um die Mengen an CO2-Äquivalenten, die die globale ökologische Krise antreiben, drastisch zu reduzieren: Sie haben den Verbrauch fossiler Brennstoffe nicht ersetzt, sondern sich lediglich zu einer immer größeren Menge an Kohle-, Öl- und Gasproduktion dazugesellt (Richard York, Nature Climate Change, june 2012 ; Yuanan Hu & Hefa Cheng, Nature Communications, feb. 2017).

Die Credit Suisse unterstützte die Emission von Green Bonds im Umfang von USD 28 Milliarden.

Grüne Anleihen sind in der Regel „greenwashing“ Finanzprodukte. Wie das Center for International Climate and Environmental Research (CICERO) in Bezug auf die grünen Anleihen von HSBC im Jahr 2015 feststellte: „Es gibt keine Garantien oder Methoden, um sicherzustellen, dass der Nettoeffekt von [grünen Anleihen] signifikant positiv ist. „(„Second Opinion“ zum HSBC-Rahmenplan für grüne Anleihen, Cicero 2015). Es wurde kürzlich theoretisch bewiesen, dass “[Green Bonds und Standardanleihen] tatsächlich dasselbe Produkt sind, trotz des politischen und medialen Diskurses, der einem Unterschied zwischen den beiden Produkten Glauben schenkt.“ Die Autoren der entsprechenden Untersuchung wiesen auch darauf hin, dass „das mit einer solchen Anleihe verbundene ‚grüne‘ Versprechen keinen rechtlichen Wert hat“ und kamen zu dem Schluss: „Es ist zumindest fraglich, ob die ‚grüne‘ Anleihe zum Kampf gegen die globale Erwärmung beiträgt (im Gegensatz zu einigen Projektfinanzierungen oder anderen Direktinvestitionen in grüne Projekte) und ob die Frage des funktionierenden Greenwashing aufgeworfen werden kann. (Ekeland und Lefournier, L’obligation verte : homéopathie ou incantation?, 3 juin 2019)

In einem Artikel der Zeitung The Guardian vom Februar 2019 hieß es: „Australien [verwendet] Klimafinanzierung zur Nachrüstung von Kohlekraftwerken. (Adam Morton, Out on its own, The Guardian, 28 feb. 2019)

Wenn man schliesslich davon ausgeht, dass diese grünen Anleihen wirklich grün sind, sind die angekündigten „28 Milliarden USD an grünen Anleihen für [ihre] Kunden“ über 6 Jahre lächerlich gering und machen kaum die Hälfte dessen aus, was die Credit Suisse in „Transaktionen mit fossilen Brennstoffen“ über einen halb so kurzen Zeitraum (zwischen 2016 und 2018) verliehen hat.

Wir befinden uns im Jahr 2020, 50 Jahre nachdem die große Herausforderung des Klimawandels wissenschaftlich fundiert wurde, 11 Jahre nach der COP15 in Kopenhagen, 5 Jahre nach der COP21.

 Im Gegensatz zu anderen grossen europäischen Finanzakteuren versäumt es die Bank ihre Tätigkeiten im Hinblick auf deren klimaschädlichen Einflüsse zu überprüfen. Dieses Scheitern gefährdet unsere Zukunft und bedroht jetzt Millionen von Menschen. Die Brände in Sibirien (2019) und Australien (2019-2020), die Dürre in Indien (2019), die Überschwemmungen in Indonesien (2019-2020) sind nur Beispiele für die Gefahren, vor denen uns der IPCC in seinem Bericht über die Folgen einer Erwärmung über 1,5°C gewarnt hat (IPCC, Special Report, Global Warming of 1.5°C, 2018).

Dessin de presse Vincent Lepee
"Wird die Australian Open stattfinden?"
"Die Luft ist hier nicht atmungsfähig... Lassen Sie uns dieses Spiel lieber in einer Credit Suisse filiale beenden!
Vincent di Silvestro - Le Courrier 15.01.2020

Nur der Originalinhalt in französischer Sprache ist verbindlich