Credit Suisse

Fossil Bank

factual and sourced information

Press release January 24th 2020

Already days, hours and minutes without response.

A few numbers

In order to meet the objectives formulated by the IPCC and enshrined in the Paris agreement, the Executive Director of the International Energy Agency has acknowledged that we can no longer build new infrastructure that emits CO2 (The Guardian, 13 nov. 2018).

Moreover, the reserves already in operation contain more carbon than we can burn to limit warming to a maximum of 1.5°C. No new fossil fuel exploration and production projects should be opened. These data are known by the Bank and by all major economic and political players.

The claims made by Credit Suisse in their press release of January 13th, 2019, aren’t new. For experts of this field, the bank’s role in fueling the climate crisis isn’t either.

Between 2016 and 2018 Credit Suisse invested a total of $57,4 billion in fossil fuels (BankTrack, Banking on Climate Change 2019). At the same time, the bank provided $14,9 billion in financial support for global firms actively expanding their fossil fuels businesses (BankTrack & al., Banking on Climate Change, 2019).

Between 2015 and 2017 Credit Suisse granted $7,8 billion to 47 companies exploiting ‘extreme’ fossil fuels (Greenpeace Suisse, Swiss banks and their financed emissions, January 2019) and financed their exploration with $1,466 billion (Right, Based on Science, Eine Analyse der von CS und UBS finanzierten Emissionen aus fossilen Brennstoffen, 2018).

Fossil fuels at the extremes are coal, oil sands, Arctic and deep-sea oil, and liquefied natural gas.

Between 2015 and 2017 Credit Suisse financed 120 million tons of greenhouse gas emissions. This amount doubled all of Switzerland’s emissions (Greenpeace Switzerland, Credit Suisse and UBS financing massive greenhouse gas emissions, 2019).
 
82.6 million in 2017 alone. The amount for 2015 to 2017 almost doubles Switzerland’s national emissions by 143 million tons of CO2 equivalent over the same period (OFEV, Évolution des émissions de gaz à effet de serre de la Suisse depuis 1990, avril 2019).

Between 2016 and 2018 Credit Suisse provided $2 billion in support to some of the biggest coal mining companies in the world (BankTrack, Banking on Climate Change, 2019). Between 2015 and 2017 the bank tripled its emissions of financed carbon, especially due to its support of the coal industry (Bank Track, Credit Suisse and UBS financing massive greenhouse gas emissions, 2019).

Since 2014 Credit Suisse has issued financing of several billion USD to some of the main companies involved both in Alberta tar sands extraction and in carrying tar sands oil via pipeline out of Alberta (Ran, Funding Tar Sands ; Bank Track, Banking on climate change, 2019).

Please note : the extraction of this ‘extreme’ energy implies:

  • the pollution of huge amounts of water (up to 5 barrels of water are needed for each barrel of crude)
  • huge amounts of energy (190kg of greenhouse gases are produced to extract the equivalent of one barrel, three times what is needed for conventional oil)
  • the irreversible destruction of parts of the boreal forest (which will amount in the end to around 5000 square kilometers).
 

People are already dying because of the pollution of the Athabasca, the region’s main river (Stephane M. McLachlan, Environmental and Human Health Implications of the Athabasca Oil, 2014). A recent study shows that CO2 equivalent emissions are 30% higher than those announced by the companies that operate them (John Liggio & al., Nature Communications, april 2019). Some scientists consider that the development of the tar sands does not allow to stay below the 2°C threshold of climate change, the upper limit set by the Paris agreement (Christophe MacGlade & Paul Enkins, Nature, 7 juin 2015).

Between 2016 and 2018 Credit Suisse invested $147 million in companies drilling in the Arctic (Bank Track, 2019).

16,04% in Buy position, registered share 5,07% (Allnews.ch, Credit Suisse le Qatar augmente sa participation, August 13th 2018).

Qatar is the world’s biggest exporter of Liquefied Natural Gas.

4
billion USD IN FOSSIL FUELS
BETWEEN 2016 AND 2018
1
MILLION TONNES OF GREENHOUSE GASES
BETWEEN 2015 AND 2017
1
MILLION USD IN ARCTIC DRILLING
BETWEEN 2016 and 2018

Their words - Our facts

Response to Credit Suisse's press release from January 13th 2020
Credit Suisse is seeking to align its financing on the Paris Agreement objectives

Credit Suisse is one of 33 banks globally most involved in supporting and financing fossil fuels in the world (BankTrack, Banking on Climate Change 2019). The Paris Agreement was signed in 2015. Five years on, Credit Suisse is ‘still far from breaking ties with the fossil fuel industry’ (Johan Frijns & al., Letter to Credit Suisse’s CEO, december 2019).

Examples and figures demonstrating the bank’s very strong involvement in the financing of fossil fuels abound. One of the latest is the role it played most recently in the IPO of Saudi Aramco, the biggest oil producing company in the world.

After trying everything to become one of its global coordinator, the bank was one of 9 financial advisors for the initial public offering of Saudi Aramco in December 2019, via Credit Suisse Saudi Arabia. Credit Suisse Europe was one of its Joint Bookrunners (Globallegalchronicle.com, Saudi Aramco’s $25.6 Billion Initial Public Offering, december 2019).

According to Richard Heede of the Climate Accountability Institute, Saudi Aramco is linked to 4,38% of all carbon dioxyde and methane produced by human activity since 1965. It’s at the top of the ranking of the ’20 firms behind a third of all carbon emissions’  (The Guardian, Revealed: the 20 firms behind a third of all carbon emissions, october 9th 2019).

Its internal guidelines are permanently monitored and are constantly enforced

From a climate perspective, solutions based on bank volunteerism have proven to be uneffective for greenhouse gas emissions these last few years on a global scale. ‘Internal guidelines’ mentioned by the bank might have an impact, on the condition they be controlled by a competent authority whose independance is guaranteed. This is unfortunately not the case.

In practice, these internal guidelines have not prevented Credit Suisse from contributing to the financing of a number of projects and/or companies with catastrophic climate impacts: including direct financing for the first shale gas export terminal from the US Sabine Pass (famous in particular for having been temporarily closed after 10 years of chronically underestimated leakage : Justin Mikulka, Desmog, feb. 18 2018) but also the financing of more than USD 1 billion in 2018 of the Texas-based shale gas company Apache (Daniel Stern, Der wilde Ritt der Credit Suisse, WOZ, april 4 2019).

Credit Suisse’s guidelines also did not prevent it in 2017 from contributing with other 21 banks to finance TransCanada (Alison Kirsh, Who’s bankrolling TransCanada, march 2017 / RAN, Funding Tar Sands, november 2017), a company leading several emblematic projects dangerous for the climate, including the infamous Keystone XL pipeline.

Finally, its guidelines have left it free to be the second largest funder of the German company RWE, which mines lignite, the most polluting coal in North Westphalia, between 2016 and 2019. The area is one of the most CO2-intensive in Europe (BankTrack, Banking on Climate Change 2019 / Gerard Wynn, RWE’s lignite, Energypost.eu, october 2018).

Credit Suisse declared it wouldn't finance coal power plants anymore

In December 2019, Credit Suisse committed itself to no longer directly financing  ‘new power plant projects‘. This announcement is far from being a heavy sacrifice for Credit Suisse. Over the past 20 years, the bank has only granted two direct loans for new coal-fired power plant projects, one in 2006 and another in 2007. In other words, Credit Suisse is trying to present an image of a responsible bank at low cost by committing itself to no longer doing what it already did not or no longer does.

One commitment that could have made a real difference in the fight against climate change would have been to give up its massive financing of coal companies. For all banks, “corporate” finance accounts for the bulk of their coal financing; project finance is still only a small part, less than 10%. For Credit Suisse, almost all of its support for coal is therefore provided in the form of credits or aid for the issue of shares and bonds by companies.

Unlike many other European banks, Credit Suisse has not made any commitments in respect of such financing. On the contrary, between 2016 and 2018 Credit Suisse has allocated more than USD 1.9 billion to the top 30 coal power companies by installed plus planned coal power capacity. It is thus contributing to the expansion of one of the most CO2-efficient energy sources (BankTrack, Banking on Climate Change 2019).

Credit Suisse's part in credits to fossil fuels is in the lower range

It’s great news this is now the official stance of Credit Suisse management ! For a good reason too, since this confirms the idea according to which disinvestment of the sums granted to the global fossil fuel industry is really possible for the bank, in addition to being highly advisable for the conservation of life on Earth.

However, in order to appreciate the scale of the announced amount, we should have access to the equivalent in USD, as well as to the profile of the amounts of ‘fossil fuel credits’ expected for the next 30 years.

This profile should decrease drastically starting this year, in order to reach 0 in 2050 at the latest, i.e. “7.6% emission reductions per year between 2020 and 2030 in order to hope to limit warming as close to 1.5°C as possible” ( UNEP, Emissions gap report, 2019). Disclosure of the profile of volumes of “fossil fuel credits” is essential, as already recommended by the NGFS (Network for Greening the Financial System, A Call for Action, april 2019) and the TCFD (Recommendations of the Task Force on Climate-related Financial Disclosures, june 2017).

Credit Suisse is a driver of sustainable financial investments

Supporting the development of renewable energies is important. It’s one of the pillars of an energetic and ecologic transition, which is absolutely essential.

To be believable, the mentioned amounts first need to be clarified. Several coal and oil TNCs intervene massively in these sectors, as well as for a smaller share in renewable energies. What’s more, renewable energies also have negative climate externalities that should also be discussed. Let’s hope Credit Suisse does everything it can to uncover their exact impact. This data is relevant when compared to the efficiency of support to other mitigation strategies. 

Moreover, financing renewable energies while simultaneously continuing to finance fossil fuels on a large scale like Credit Suisse is doing is highly problematic. Global destruction of climate doesn’t get ‘fixed’ just because you organise a few fundraisers and/or lend billions to the main drivers of climate chaos, while also lending billions to others with less destructive activities.

The most credible energetic transition scenarions (like the Scenario Negawatt in France) insist on the fact that the most important transitions show that energy efficiency and conservation are essential. The transition to highly technical solutions (including so-called renewable’ energy) and has proven its inefficiency in decreasing massively the amounts of CO2 accountable for the global ecologic crisis : they didn’t replace fossil fuels, but were added onto an ever-growing pile of coal, oil and gas production (Richard York, Nature Climate Change, june 2012 ; Yuanan Hu & Hefa Cheng, Nature Communications, feb. 2017).

Credit Suisse supported the emission of 28 billion USD green bonds

As underlined by the Center for International Climate and Environmental Research (CICERO) about HSBC’s green obligations in 2015 : “there exists no guarantee, nor any ‘methodology’ to assure that the net impact of [green obligations] is significantly positive.” (“Second Opinion” on HSBC’s green obligation framework , Cicero 2015). It was recently proven that “[green obligations and standard obligations] are in fact the same product, despite a political and media discourse that tries to sell the existence of a difference between the two”. The authors of the research also underlined that “the ‘green’ promise linked to such an obligation carries no legal weight” and concluded that : “It is at the least questionable that ‘green’ obligation contributes to fight global warming (as opposed to financing directly green projects), and the issue of greenwashing could be raised.” (Ekeland et Lefournier, L’obligation verte : homéopathie ou incantation ?, june 3 2019).

An article from The Guardian in February 2019 indicated that “Australia [uses] climate change funding to upgrade coal-fired power plants”  (Adam Morton, Out on its own, The Guardian, feb. 28 2019). In China, “only 10% of green bonds sold last year [2016] had independent verification on the use of proceeds” (Claire Milhench, Emerging climate bonds boom, but are they really green?, Reuters, august 18 août 2017). According to Les Amis de la Terre France, the 2,5 billion euro fundraiser organised by GDF Suez in 2014 for private investors in order to finance “so-called clean energy projects” went into “green projects” without “any clear social or environmental criteria” being guaranteed, while the company keeps “investing heavily in fossil fuels” (Amis de la Terre France, Shell, GDF Suez et Samsung remportent les Prix Pinocchio 2014, november 18th 2014).

Finally, supposing these ‘green bonds’ are really green, the announced sum of “28 billion dollars in green obligations for [its] clients” over 6 years is ridiculously low and barely represents half of what Credit Suisse lent in “fossil fuel related transactions” over a period half that time (between 2016 and 2018).

It is now 2020. The risks and threats brought on by climate change have been verified since they were first formulated 50 years ago. Despite the international commitments pledged 5 years ago in Paris at COP21, Credit Suisse keeps massively financing the development of fossil fuels.

Contrary to other majors European financial actors, Credit Suisse has so far failed to question its actions in order to stop contributing to the worsening of the climate crisis. This failure is endangering our future and puts millions of people at risk. Wildfires in Siberia (2019) and Australia (2019-2020), the drought in India (2019), flooding in Indonesia (2019-2020) are but a few examples of dangers the IPCC warned against in their report on the consequences of a warming scenario exceeding 1,5°C (IPCC, Special Report, Global Warming of 1.5°C, 2018).

Credit Suisse response to this situation and to the current mass mobilisations, including various lawsuits filed by the bank, is outrageous. It only makes us more determined to obtain rapid disinvestment from all funds granted to the major players of climate chaos.

Dessin de presse Vincent Lepee
"Will the Australian Open be held?"
"The air is unbreathable here... let's go finish the game at a Credit Suisse branch instead."
Vincent di Silvestro - Le Courrier 15.01.2020

Only the original text in French is legally binding

Credit Suisse

banque fossile

Informations factuelles et sourcées

Communiqué de presse du 24 janvier 2020

Déjà jours, heures et minutes sans réponse.

En quelques chiffres

Afin de respecter les objectifs formulés par le GIEC et consacrés par l’accord de Paris, le directeur exécutif de l’Agence Internationale de l’Énergie a reconnu que nous ne pouvons plus construire de nouvelles infrastructures émettrices de CO2 (The Guardian, 13 nov. 2018).

Par ailleurs, les réserves déjà en exploitation contiennent plus de carbone que nous ne pouvons en brûler pour limiter le réchauffement à maximum 1,5°C. Aucun nouveau projet d’exploration et de production d’énergies fossiles ne doit être ouvert. Ces données sont connues par le Crédit Suisse comme par l’ensemble des acteurs économiques et politiques majeurs.

D’une façon générale, les arguments avancés par le Credit Suisse dans son communiqué de presse du 13 janvier 2019 ne sont pas ou peu nouveaux. Pour les spécialistes de la question, son implication dans l’alimentation de la catastrophe climatique, ne l’est pas non plus.

Entre 2016 et 2018, le Credit Suisse a investi un total de 57,4 milliards de dollars dans les énergies fossiles (BankTrack & al., Banking on Climate Change 2019). Dans le même temps, la banque a apporté un soutien financier de 14,9 milliards de dollars à des entreprises mondiales qui développent activement leurs activités dans le domaine des énergies fossiles (BankTrack & al., Banking on Climate Change 2019).

Entre 2015 et 2017, le Credit Suisse a accordé 7,8 milliards USD à 47 entreprises exploitant des énergies fossiles « extrêmes » (Greenpeace Suisse, Swiss Banks and their financed emissions, January 2019) et a financé leur exploration à hauteur de 1,466 milliard USD (Right, Based on Science, Eine Analyse der von CS und UBS finanzierten Emissionen aus fossilen Breenstoffen, 2018).

Les combustibles fossiles situés comme extrêmes sont le charbon, le pétrole des sables bitumineux, de l’Arctique et des grands fonds marins, et le gaz naturel liquéfié.

Entre 2015 et 2017, le Credit Suisse ont financé 120 millions de tonnes de Gaz à Effet de Serre (Greenpeace Switzerland, Credit Suisse and UBS financing massive greenhouse gas emissions, 2019).

82,6 millions pour la seule année 2017. Le montant 2015-2017 double presque les émissions nationales Suisses de 143 millions de tonnes d’équivalent CO2 sur la même période (OFEV, Évolution des émissions de gaz à effet de serre de la Suisse depuis 1990, avril 2019).

Entre 2016 et 2018, le Credit Suisse a apporté un soutien de 2 milliards de dollars à certaines des plus grandes entreprises d’extraction de charbon du monde, tout en soutenant certaines des plus grandes entreprises de production d’électricité à partir du charbon à hauteur de 1,9 milliard (BankTrack, Banking on Climate Change, 2019). Entre 2015 et 2017, la banque a triplé ses émissions d’équivalent carbone financées, du fait notamment de son soutien à bon nombre d’entreprises du charbon (BankTrack, Credit Suisse and UBS financing massive greenhouse gas emissions, 2019).

Depuis 2014, le Credit Suisse a émis des financements de plusieurs milliards de dollars à certaines des principales entreprises impliquées à la fois dans l’extraction des sables bitumineux de l’Alberta et dans le transport du pétrole des sables bitumineux par pipeline hors de l’Alberta (Ran, Funding Tar Sandset Bank Track, Banking on climate change, 2019).

Nota bene : l’extraction de cette énergie « extrême » implique:

  • la pollution d’énormes quantités d’eau (jusqu’à 5 barils d’eau pour chaque baril de brut)
  • d’énergie (190 kg de gaz à effet de serre générés pour extraire un baril, soit trois fois plus que pour le pétrole conventionnel)
  • la destruction irréversible d’une partie de la forêt boréale (à terme environ 5000 kilomètres carrés).
 

Des gens meurent déjà de la pollution de l’Athabasca, la principale rivière de la région (Stéphane M. McLachlan, Environmental and Human Health Implications of the Athabasca Oil, 2014). Une récente étude démontre que les émissions d’équivalent CO2 sont 30% plus importantes que celles annoncées par les compagnies qui les exploitent (John Liggio & al., Nature Communications, avril 2019). Certains scientifiques considèrent que le développement des sables bitumineux ne permet pas de rester en dessous du seuil des 2°C de changement climatique, limite haute fixée par l’accord de Paris (Christophe MacGlade & Paul Enkins, Nature, 7 juin 2015).

Le Credit Suisse a investi 147 millions USD de 2016 à 2018 dans des entreprises qui forent dans l’Arctique (Bank Track, 2019)

16,04% en positions d’achat, actions nominatives 5,07% (Allnews.ch, Credit Suisse le Qatar augmente sa participation, 13 aout 2018).

Le Qatar est le plus grand exportateur de Gaz Naturel Liquéfié au monde.

4
milliards USD dans les énergies fossiles
Entre 2016 et 2018
1
millions de tonnes de Gaz à Effet de Serre
Entre 2015 et 2017
1
millions USD dans les forages en Arctique
Entre 2016 et 2018

Leurs paroles - Nos chiffres

Réponse au communiqué de presse du Credit Suisse du 13 janvier 2020
Le Credit Suisse cherche à aligner son financement sur les objectifs de l’Accord de Paris

Le Credit Suisse est l’une des 33 banques globales les plus impliquées dans le soutien et le financement aux énergies fossiles dans le monde (BankTrack, Banking on Climate Change 2019). L’accord de Paris a été signé en 2015. Cinq ans après le Credit Suisse est « encore loin de rompre les liens avec l’industrie des combustibles fossiles » (Johan Frijns et al., Lettre au CEO du Credit Suisse, décembre 2019).

Les exemples et les chiffres démontrant la très forte implication de la banque dans le financement des énergies fossiles sont abondants. L’un des tous derniers concerne le role qu’elle a joué tout récemment à l’occasion de l’entrée en bourse de Saudi Aramco.

Après avoir tout son possible pour en être le coordinateur global, la banque via Credit Suisse Saudi Arabia a été en décembre 2019 l’un des 9 conseillers financiers de l’introduction en bourse du plus grand producteur de pétrole au monde Saudi Aramco. Credit Suisse Europe a été l’un de ses Joint Bookrunners (Globallegalchronicle.com, Saudi Aramco’s $25.6 Billion Initial Public Offering, december 2019).

Selon Richard Heede du Climate Accountability Institute, Saudi Aramco est liée à 4,38 % du dioxyde de carbone et du méthane générés par l’activité humaine depuis 1965. Elle est en tête du classement des « 20 plus grandes entreprises du monde à être liées à plus d’un tiers de toutes les émissions de gaz à effet de serre de l’ère moderne » (The Guardian, Revealed: the 20 firms behind a third of all carbon emissions, 9 octobre 2019).

Ses « directives internes font l’objet d’un examen permanent et ont été renforcées en permanence »

En matière climatique, les solutions basées sur le volontariat des banques se sont globalement avérées sans conséquence sur les émissions de GES au cours des dernières années. Les « lignes directrices internes » évoquées par la banque pourraient avoir un impact si elles étaient contrôlées par une autorité compétente et dont l’indépendance est garantie, ce n’est hélas pas le cas.

Ses directives internes n’ont en pratique pas empêché le Credit Suisse de contribuer au financement d’un bon nombre de projets et de compagnies dont l’impact climatique est catastrophique : dont un financement direct au premier terminal d’exportation de gaz de schiste en partance des Etats-Unis Sabine Pass (célèbre notamment pour avoir été temporairement fermée après 10 ans de fuites chroniquement sous-estimées : Justin Mikulka, Desmog, 18 février 2018) mais aussi le financement à hauteur de plus d’1 milliard USD en 2018 de la société texane Apache spécialiste de l’exploitation du gaz de schiste (Daniel Stern, Der wilde Ritt der Credit Suisse, WOZ, 4 avril 2019).

Les lignes directrices de la banque ne l’ont pas non plus empêché en 2017 de contribuer avec autres 21 banques a financer TransCanada (Alison Kirsh, Who’s bankrolling TransCanada, March 2017 / RAN, Funding Tar Sands, novembre 2017) compagnie menant plusieurs projets climaticides emblématiques, dont le tristement célèbre pipeline Keystone XL.

Enfin ses lignes directrices l’ont laissé libre d’être entre 2016 et 2019 le deuxième bailleur de fonds de l’entreprise allemande RWE exploitant la lignite, le charbon le plus polluant en Westphalie du Nord. La zone est l’une des plus émettrices de CO2 en Europe (BankTrack, Banking on Climate Change 2019 / Gerard Wynn, RWE’s lignite, Energypost.eu, octobre 2018).

le Credit Suisse a déclaré qu’il « ne financerait plus les centrales à charbon. »

Le Crédit Suisse s’est engagé en décembre 2019 à ne plus financer directement de « nouveaux projets de centrales à charbon ». Cette annonce est loin d’être un lourd sacrifice pour Crédit Suisse. La banque n’a en effet accordé sur les 20 dernières années que deux financements directs aux projets de construction de nouvelles centrales à charbon, un en 2006 et un autre en 2007. Autrement dit, Crédit Suisse tente de présenter une image de banque responsable à peu de frais en s’engageant à ne plus faire ce qu’elle ne faisait déjà pas ou plus.
 
Un engagement qui aurait pu réellement apporter quelque chose de positif en matière de lutte contre le changement climatique aurait été de renoncer à ses financements massifs aux entreprises actives dans le secteur du charbon. Les financements « aux entreprises » représentent, pour toutes les banques, la majeure partie de leurs financements au charbon ; les financements de projets ne sont toujours qu’une petite partie, moins de 10%. Or, pour Crédit Suisse, c’est la quasi totalité de ses soutiens au charbon qui sont délivrés sous la forme de crédits ou d’aides à l’émission d’actions et d’obligations par les entreprises.
 
Contrairement à de nombreuses autres banques européennes, Crédit Suisse n’a pris aucun engagement concernant ces financements aux entreprises. Au contraire, entre 2016 et 2018 Crédit Suisse a alloué plus de 1,9 milliard de dollars aux 30 entreprises premières compagnies d’électricité au charbon en fonction de la capacité de production installée et prévue. Il contribue ainsi à l’expansion d’une des énergies les plus émettrices d’équivalent CO2 (BankTrack, Banking on Climate Change 2019).

La part des crédits aux énergies fossiles du Credit Suisse se situe dans le bas de la fourchette

Que la direction de la banque Zurichoise soit désormais sur cette position est une bonne nouvelle ! Et pour cause, ceci accrédite l’idée selon laquelle le désinvestissement des sommes accordées à l’industrie mondiale des énergies fossiles est pleinement possible pour la banque, en plus d’être hautement souhaitable pour l’ensemble de la vie sur terre.

Cependant, pour pouvoir dans le même temps juger de la réalité de l’ordre de grandeur annoncé, il faudrait pouvoir disposer du montant en USD adéquat ainsi que du profil des volumes de « crédits aux combustibles fossiles » attendus au cours des 30 prochaines années.

Ce profil devrait diminuer drastiquement à partir de cette année pour atteindre 0 en 2050 au plus tard soit « 7.6% de réductions d’émissions par an entre 2020 et 2030 pour espérer limiter le réchauffement aussi près des 1.5°C que possible » (UNEP, Emissions gap report, 2019). La divulgation du profil des volumes de « crédits aux combustibles fossiles » est d’une nécessité indispensable comme l’ont recommandé d’ores et déjà le NGFS (Network for Greening the Financial System, A Call for Action, avril 2019) et la TCFD (Recommendations of the Task Force on Climate-related Financial Disclosures, juin 2017).

Le Credit Suisse est l’un des moteurs des placements durables

Le fait de soutenir le développement des énergies renouvelables est important. C’est l’un des axes d’une transition énergétique et écologique rigoureusement indispensable. Mais elle ne manque pas de soulever plusieurs questions essentielles.

Pour pouvoir être crédibles, les volumes évoqués doivent d’abord être clarifiés. Plusieurs multinationales du charbon ou du pétrole interviennent massivement dans ces domaines d’activité et pour une part plus résiduelle dans les renouvelables. Par ailleurs, les énergies renouvelables ont elles-aussi des externalités climatiques néfastes dont il est peu honnête de taire la réalité. Espérons que le Crédit Suisse fera son possible pour en connaître l’impact précis. Ces données ont de l’importance lorsqu’on les compare avec l’efficacité du soutien apporté à d’autres stratégies d’atténuation.

Ensuite, financer les énergies renouvelables, tout en continuant d’apporter un soutien massif aux énergies fossiles avec le zèle dont le Credit Suisse témoigne est hautement problématique. La destruction du climat n’est pas enrayée lorsque vous organisez la levée de fonds et/ou prêtez des milliards à celles et ceux qui alimentent ses causes massives, tout en prêtant d’autres milliards aux mêmes (ou à d’autres) pour des activités qui n’en font pas autant.

Les scénarios de transition énergétique les plus crédibles (dont le Scenario Negawatt en France) insistent sur le fait que les gisements de transition les plus importants se situent du coté de l’efficacité et de la sobriété énergiques. Le passage à des solutions hautement technologiques (y compris les énergies dites renouvelables) a été tentée depuis 40 ans et a prouvé son inefficacité pour diminuer drastiquement les volumes d’équivalent CO2 moteur de la crise écologique mondiale : elles ne se sont pas ou peu substituées à la consommation de combustibles fossiles, mais se sont additionnées sur un amas toujours croissant de production de charbon, de pétrole et de gaz (Richard York, Nature Climate Change, juin 2012 ; Yuanan Hu & Hefa Cheng, Nature Communications, février 2017).

Le Credit Suisse a soutenu l’émission de 28 milliards USD d’obligations vertes

Comme l’a souligné le Center for International Climate and Environmental Research (CICERO) à propos des obligations vertes de HSBC en 2015 : « il n’existe aucune garantie, ni aucune ‘méthodologie’ en vue de s’assurer que l’impact net des [obligations vertes] est significativement positif. » (« Second Opinion » sur le cadre des obligations vertes de HSBC, Cicero 2015). Il a été récemment prouvé théoriquement que « [les obligations vertes et les obligations standard] sont en fait le même produit, malgré un discours politique et médiatique qui tend à donner du crédit à l’idée d’une différence. » Les auteurs de la recherche correspondante ont également souligné que « la promesse ‘verte’ liée à une telle obligation n’a aucune valeur juridique » et ont conclu : « Il est pour le moins discutable que l’obligation ‘verte’ contribue à la lutte contre le réchauffement climatique (contrairement à certains financements de projets ou autres investissements directs dans des projets verts), et que la question du greenwashing fonctionnel puisse être soulevée. » (Ekeland et Lefournier, L’obligation verte : homéopathie ou incantation ?, 3 juin 2019)

Un article du journal The Guardian de février 2019 indiquait que « l’Australie [utilise] le financement climatique pour la modernisation des centrales à charbon » (Adam Morton, Out on its own, The Guardian, 28 fev. 2019). En Chine « seulement 10% des green bonds vendus [en 2016] ont fait l’objet d’une vérification indépendante sur l’utilisation des produits » (Claire Milhench, Emerging climate bonds boom, but are they really green?, Reuters, 18 août 2017). Selon les Amis de la Terre France, la levée de fonds de GDF Suez en 2014 de 2,5 milliards d’euros auprès d’investisseurs privés pour financer des « soi-disant des projets énergétiques propres » est allée vers des « projets verts » sans qu' »aucun critère social et environnemental clair » ne soit garanti, et surtout alors que l’entreprise continue en parallèle « à investir lourdement dans les énergies fossiles » (Amis de la Terre France, Shell, GDF Suez et Samsung remportent les Prix Pinocchio 2014, 18 novembre 2014).

Enfin, à supposer que ces ‘green bonds’ soient véritablement verts, la somme annoncée « 28 milliards de dollars d’obligations vertes pour [ses] clients » sur 6 ans est ridiculement basse et représente à peine la moitié de ce que ce que le Credit Suisse a prêté dans les « transactions liées aux combustibles fossiles » sur une période deux fois plus courte (entre 2016 et 2018).

Nous sommes en 2020. Les risques et menaces liés au changement climatique ont été scientifiquement étayés depuis 50 ans. Malgré les engagements internationaux pris il y a 5 ans à Paris lors de la COP21, le Crédit Suisse continue de financer massivement le développement des énergies fossiles.

Contrairement à d’autres grands acteurs financiers européens, la banque échoue à revoir ses pratiques en vue de ne plus contribuer à alimenter la crise climatique. Son échec met notre avenir en péril et menace aujourd’hui des millions de personnes. Les feux en Sibérie (2019) et en Australie (2019-2020), la sécheresse en Inde (2019), les inondations en Indonésie (2019-2020) ne sont que des exemples des périls face auxquels le GIEC nous a mis en garde dans son rapport sur les conséquences d’un réchauffement supérieur à 1,5°C (IPCC, Special Report, Global Warming of 1.5°C, 2018).

La réponse du Crédit Suisse face à la situation et face aux mobilisations actuelles, dont les procès que la banque intente, est indigne. Elle décuple notre volonté d’obtenir le désinvestissement à courte échéance de l’ensemble des fonds qu’elle accorde aux responsables majeurs du chaos climatique.

Dessin de presse Vincent Lepee
Vincent di Silvestro - Le Courrier 15.01.2020